Log In

Reset Password

Brown back in Burt’s first shadow cabinet

First Prev 1 2 Next Last
Walton Brown returns as Shadow Ministeer of Home Affairs (File photograph by Akil Simmons)

Progressive Labour Party Leader David Burt has announced his new shadow cabinet, bringing back into the fold MPs who resigned under Marc Bean’s leadership.

Of those returning are Walton Brown, who has been appointed Shadow Minister of Home Affairs, and Kim Wilson, who is Shadow Minister of Health, while those MPs remaining out are Derrick Burgess, Rolfe Commissiong and Zane DeSilva.

Mr Burt has reclaimed briefly abdicated position as Shadow Minister of Finance.

Mr Burt said his cabinet will “take forward the PLP’s campaign for a fairer Bermuda; one which keeps the interests of all Bermudians at heart”

The rest of his shadow cabinet are as follows: Walter Roban, Shadow Minister of National Security; Dennis Lister, Shadow Minister of Public Works; Lovitta Foggo, Shadow Minister of Education; Michael Scott, Shadow Attorney-General; Michael Weeks, Shadow Minister of Community, Youth and Sports Development; Jamahl Simmons, Shadow Minister of Tourism; Lawrence Scott, Shadow Minister of Transport; Diallo Rabain, Shadow Minister of Environment, Planning and Workforce Development; Renée Ming, Shadow Minister of Municipalities; and Kim Wilkerson, Shadow Minister of Economic Development.

Mr Burt added: “Our shadow ministers look forward to serving Bermuda through the responsible and respectful execution of their duties as the government in waiting. They will work alongside our extremely capable backbench Members of Parliament to hold the One Bermuda Alliance Government to account during every parliamentary session for their failure to effectively serve the people of Bermuda.”

Kim Wilson, who lost out in the bid to become Deputy Leader, is back as Shadow Minister of Health (File photograph)