Log In

Reset Password

Hawley runs off with silver at championships

Erica Hawley overcame brutal conditions to claim silver at the Junior Caribbean and Central American Triathlon Championships yesterday.

Tyler Smith also competed in the men's race, finishing seventh after struggling during the closing stages.

Battling blistering South American heat, Hawley clawed her way back from fourth place on the 5-kilometre run, overhauling Beatriz Dumet, of Brazil, and Genesis Montilla, from Venezuela, to finish the sprint distance race in 1hr 14m 48 sec.

Hawley was some 2½ minutes behind winner Raquel Solis Guerrero, with the Costa Rican triathlete leading from start to finish, and completing the race in San Andres, Colombia, in a time of 1:12:17.

Solis Guerrero and Montilla exited the water first after completing the 750 metre swim in 10:37, with Hawley and Dumet hard on their heels.

However, while Solis Guerrero and Montilla powered away from the rest at the start of the 40km ride Hawley and Dumet worked together to tackle the challenging bike course.

Still, the Bermuda triathlete found herself in fourth place, and was still fourth at the start of the second lap. While Solis Guerrero was uncatchable by this point, Hawley dug deep to haul in Dumet and Montilla, eventually finishing the 5km run in 22:21, 20 seconds ahead of Dument.

Montilla, meanwhile, suffered from her excursions on the bike and dropped to fourth, finishing her run in 23:53, and crossing the line in 1:15:30.

“Erica dug so deep, it was a great race in very challenging conditions,” Julia Hawley, Erica's mother, said.

In the men's race Smith was first out of the water in 9:41, and kept up with the leaders during a bike ride in which he attacked unsuccessfully as he tried to haul in leaders Bryan Fernando Mendoza Ramos, of El Salvador, and Eduardo Londoño Naranjo, from Colombia.

The run proved too much for the Bermuda triathlete, however, and he was some two minutes slower than the leaders, finishing the race in 1:05:24, well behind winner Mendoza Ramos, who crossed the line in 1:02:42.

Impressive displays: Smith, left, and Hawley, right, both performed well in Colombia

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published April 16, 2016 at 9:00 am (Updated April 15, 2016 at 11:43 pm)

Hawley runs off with silver at championships

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon