Cooper’s legend by Newport Bermuda Race – The Royal Gazette | Bermuda News, Business, Sports, Events, & Community

Log In

Reset Password

Cooper’s legend burnished by Newport Bermuda Race

First Prev 1 2 Next Last
Special inductee: Kirk Cooper has been inducted in the Newport Bermuda Race Roll of Honour (Photograph courtesy of Newport Bermuda Race)
Sailing great: Edmund Kirkland “Kirk” Cooper (File photograph)

Kirk Cooper has been inducted in the Newport Bermuda Race Roll of Honour.

The late Bermuda sailing legend made his debut in the 635-mile race as a teenager and went on to make a further 16 appearances in the biennial event.

Cooper, who died in 2018 at the age of 86, is regarded as one of the island’s greatest sailors.

His remarkable career also included three trips to the Olympic Games — Tokyo 1964, when he came close to a bronze medal, Mexico City 1968 and Munich 1972, when he was the flag-bearer for Bermuda at the opening ceremony.

He competed in the one-design Dragon keelboat with Eugene “Penny” Simmons, a multiple International One Design world champion and Pan American Games silver medal-winner, at the 1964 and 1968 Olympics.

Cooper also competed in the Soling class at the 1972 Munich Games and served as Bermuda’s first juror at the America’s Cup in Newport, Rhode Island, in 1983.

The former Royal Bermuda Yacht Club commodore was inducted in the Bermuda Sports Hall of Fame for his outstanding sailing exploits in 2005.

Cooper is joined on the honour roll by Americans John Alden and Bjorn Johnson.

The Newport Bermuda Race Roll of Honour recognises and celebrates extraordinary sailors who have sailed across the Gulf Stream in this unique ocean race.

It was created in 2006 on the centenary of the inaugural race and now boasts 13 sailors with the latest additions.

The Bermuda Race Roll of Honour Selection Committee includes chairman John Rousmaniere and his Cruising Club of America colleagues John Osmond and Lawrence Glenn as well as RBYC pair Stephen Kempe and John Winder. Kempe and Winder are also affiliated with the Cruising Club of America.

n Stevie Dickinson and crew Mickia Brangman won the Lawrence “Stickers” Hendrickson Memorial Comet Regatta hosted by the Mid-Atlantic Boat and Sports Club on Sunday.

The East End Mini Yacht Club stalwart won the opening three races of the four-race series to clinch the regatta with a race to spare.

Maxwell Curtis Jr and crew Stefan Furbert, also of the East End Mini Yacht Club, finished second three points behind the leaders.

West End Sailboat Club sailor and Comet class president Gladwin Lambert and crew Stefan Maybury pipped EEMYC’s Dale Brangman and Tajahri Rogers for third on a tiebreak to round off the podium respectively.

You must be registered or signed-in to post comment or to vote.

Published October 12, 2020 at 8:49 pm (Updated October 12, 2020 at 8:48 pm)

Cooper’s legend burnished by Newport Bermuda Race

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon