Log In

Reset Password

BFA announce Island Games squad

Bermuda Football Association (BFA) yesterday announced a 36-player training squad to take part in trial matches ahead of the Island Games to be held on the Island this summer.

National team head coach Andrew Bascome and his assistant Dennis Brown have identified an initial list of local-based players they are keen to evaluate over the next few months.

Of the 36 set to vie for spot in the squad, 11 are from current Digicel Premier Division leaders Devonshire Cougars, while defending champions Dandy Town and PHC both boast six members.

Players will be split into two teams that will play in trial matches at the BFA Field.

Bascome said he was particularly interested in running the rule over players who had not previously been involved in the national set-up.

“These trial matches will allow the coaching staff the opportunity to have a close look at some players that may not have been included at the national level in the past,” he said.

“Some players from previous matches and tournaments have been omitted at this point to allow inclusion of others, but could still factor into consideration for selection into the formal training pool.”

The trial matches will be held over the next three Wednesdays, starting tonight at BFA Field at 6.45pm.

Top players such as Reggie Lambe, Freddy Hall, and Nahki Wells are eligible for the Island Games squad, with countries allowed to include professionals.

The coaching staff reserve the right to invite additional players into the training pool following the conclusion of the trial matches including overseas-based players at schools and academies.

Treadwell Gibbons, Troy Hall, Jesse Seymour, Aston Bell, Trevin Ming, Robert Richardson, Jason Davis, Tyrell Burgess, Moses Steede, Zaire Burchall, Dimitri Daniels, Raequan Rochester, Dennis Russell, Johnathan Bean, Jahron Dickinson, Ian Coke, Cecoy Robinson, Kor-von Tucker

Bermuda’s training squad

Red select:

Jason Smith, Kioshi Trott, Conneko Trott, Darius Cox, Deandre Trott, Devrae Tankard, Kamen Tucker, Drewonde Bascome, Kiuno Cann, Terrance Webb, Christopher Caisey, Vernon Perinchief, Antwan Russell, Domico Coddington, Shakir Smith, Caldre Burgess, Damon Ming, Clay Darrell.

Blue select:

Andrew Bascome will be in charge of the Island Games football squad.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published January 16, 2013 at 8:00 am (Updated January 15, 2013 at 6:59 pm)

BFA announce Island Games squad

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon