Log In

Reset Password

Curse of the champions

France lifted the World Cup in 2018 after beating Croatia 4-2 in the final. Following up, though, has been an issue for champions in modern times (Photograph by Martin Meissner/AP)

As well as coping with injuries to key players again, France has the weight of World Cup history to contend with in Qatar.

Good luck, Les Bleus.

Not since Brazil lost the 1998 final to France have the defending champions come close to retaining the title.

Of the next five World Cup defending champions, four failed to reach the knockout stage and three finished last in their group.

As World Cup champions in 1998, many favoured France to win again in 2002, especially with the front line featuring top scorers from three major European leagues.

France boasted Arsenal striker Thierry Henry, Juventus marksman David Trezeguet and rising talent Djibril Cissé in a glittering attack blending speed, skill and power. But the French flopped and, with an injured Zinédine Zidane unable to perform properly in midfield, limped out of the group stage without winning a game.

It was one of the greatest shocks in World Cup history, and the warning signs are chillingly similar this time.

France boast arguably the best attack in the world with Ballon d’Or winner Karim Benzema alongside 2018 World Cup star Kylian Mbappé, with either Antoine Griezmann or Olivier Giroud to support them.

Speed, skill and power.

But, like in 2002, France also have problems in midfield, with World Cup winners Paul Pogba and N’Golo Kanté out injured, depriving coach Didier Deschamps of his engine room. Central defender Raphaël Varane, another mainstay from four years ago, is trying to recover from a hamstring injury.

Here is a look at where it went wrong for France in 2002, Brazil four years later in 2006, Italy in 2010, Spain in 2014 and Germany in 2018.

France in 2002

What could go wrong for a France team with Zidane playing behind Henry, Trezeguet and Cissé in a group featuring Senegal, Uruguay and Denmark?

The first mistake coach Roger Lemerre made was picking Zidane in a warm-up against South Korea five days before the tournament. He limped off with a thigh injury that ruled him out of the first two group games, and he was rushed back for the last.

France, however, still had the core of their victorious team from 1998. Youri Djorkaeff was in the midfield alongside Patrick Vieira, who had just won the Premier League and FA Cup double with Arsenal team-mate Henry. There was also Emmanuel Petit, who had scored in the 3-0 win over Brazil in the previous final.

But in the opening match of 2002, Papa Bouba Diop scored the lone goal for Senegal in a 1-0 win over the defending champions.

France’s hopes of bouncing back took a hit when Henry was sent off after 25 minutes for a reckless challenge in a 0-0 draw against Uruguay.

That left France needing to beat Denmark by two goals. A strapped-up Zidane did what he could, but France lost 2-0 and went home in embarrassment.

Brazil in 2006

Brazil boasted a team packed with stars, featuring the showboating brilliance of Ronaldinho; the sharpshooting of Ronaldo and Adriano; the marauding runs of Cafu, and the swirling long-range free kicks of Juninho. Ronaldinho even had a personalised headband with his own initial “R” written in gold.

There was a sense that Brazil might be a little overconfident in the quarter-finals against a France team featuring a rejuvenated Zidane.

And that’s the way it turned out.

Zidane produced one of the most dazzling midfield performances in World Cup history. His incredible skill, balletic balance and pirouetting moves bamboozled Brazil, and his free kick set up Henry for a back-post volley — the only goal of the match.

Italy in 2010

Just like France in 2002, Italy finished at the bottom of their group.

At least the Italians scored — four times — but the group looked a bit easier: Paraguay, New Zealand and Slovakia.

Italy made a poor start and needed an equaliser from midfielder Daniele De Rossi to get a draw against Paraguay. Worse followed for the four-times champions: a 1-1 draw with New Zealand, who took an early lead through unheralded forward Shane Smeltz. In the final group game, Italy were in tatters and trailed 2-0 against Slovakia before losing 3-2.

Italy coach Marcello Lippi just couldn’t seem to get the balance right, unlike in 2006. His team conceded too easily even with Fabio Cannavaro and Giorgio Chiellini in central defence, and had problems up front. Vincenzo Iaquinta, Antonio Di Natale and Fabio Quagliarella did score but first-choice striker Alberto Gilardino failed to.

Gilardino had been in good form with AC Milan that season and was known for a peculiar goal celebration, sinking to his knees to play the violin.

This time, Gilardino had nothing to celebrate.

Spain in 2014

It was quite the rude awakening for Spain coach Vicente del Bosque after back-to-back major trophies.

European champion Spain’s opening game ended in a 5-1 loss to Holland — despite a tough central defensive pairing of Sergio Ramos and Gerard Pique and a slick midfield including Barcelona greats Xavi Hernández and Andrés Iniesta.

In the next game, Spain were unable to stop conceding and lost to Chile 2-0 with both goals coming in the first half.

A 3-0 win over Australia was scant consolation for a star-studded Spain team, whose slide symbolised how two golden eras were coming to an end. Barcelona’s glory years, which centred around the passing of Xavi and Iniesta, coincided with Spain’s successes at Euro 2008, the 2010 World Cup and Euro 2012.

Germany in 2018

So much for ruthless Germany, the attacking machine that put seven goals past Brazil in the semi-finals at the previous World Cup on the way to their fourth title.

From the outset, Germany struggled in Russia, losing a scrappy game 1-0 to Mexico and then needing a goal from midfielder Toni Kroos in the fifth minute of stoppage time to beat Sweden.

That should have been enough of a wake-up call.

Germany needed to beat South Korea to have a shot at advancing, but instead conceded two goals deep in stoppage time after squandering many chances to score.

The loss was met with disbelief back home, a feeling familiar to that star-studded France team 20 years ago.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published November 18, 2022 at 12:07 pm (Updated November 18, 2022 at 12:07 pm)

Curse of the champions

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon