Log In

Reset Password

Lamont Marshall and Gayle Lindsay steal early march in Legends Series

First Prev 1 2 3 4 Next Last
Leading ladies: Gayle Lindsay, left, who was the first female finisher alongside Rose-Anna Hoey, who finished second with the same time as Maria Kemiji-Mcdonald (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

Lamont Marshall and Gayle Lindsay laid down early markers in this year’s Legend Race Series with victory in the Ed Sherlock 8K.

Among a field of 86 runners in the competitive run category, Marshall was first across the line in a winning time of 25min 56sec, more than two minutes clear of Sean Trott in 28:05, with Thomas Mills completing the podium places in 28:25.

Lindsay was the first female finisher in 31:15, which was good enough for seventh overall, and comfortably clear of her nearest rivals.

All smiles: Jack Fox (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

Second place came down to a thrilling sprint finish with nothing separating Rose-Anna Hoey and Maria Kemiji-Mcdonald, who both clocked 32:55 on the official timesheet.

“I’m really happy with my performance,” said Lindsay. “The aim was obviously to try and win and get the series off to a good start but I’m also pleased with my time.

“I’ve done this race a number of times and it’s always tough. Even though it’s a loop it just feels it’s uphill the entire way.

“Maria [Kemiji-Mcdonald] went out hard from the start and so I had to respond. I tried to pace myself sensibly and I felt comfortable with the pace I was at so just went with it.

Diana Li (left) and Lesley-Jane Smith (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

“Hopefully I can stay injury free and compete in each race of the series, that’s the aim, and so I’m pleased to get off to a good start.”

There was also joy for Tim Price who claimed victory in the 8K competitive walk, crossing the line in 52:42, slightly ahead of second-placed Paul Hayward in 53:19, who was more than seven minutes clear of Junior Watts, who finished in 1hr 0min 53sec.

The non-competitive run/walk was won by Makenzie Bardgett in a time of 51:03, more than three minutes clear of Julia Judd (54:26) and Jenna Burrows (55:34).

One special guest in attendance at the finish line at Southampton Rangers Football Club was John Tucker, one of the co-founders of the Ed Sherlock 8K, who hailed the longevity of the race, which has been running for 31 years.

“One night, myself, Alan Vickers and Ed Sherlock were in the bar here [Southampton Rangers] and we decided to create a race in honour of Ed who was always an amazing runner and pride of the Parish of Southampton,” said Tucker.

“I’m so just so excited to see this race still going strong after 31 years and witness the large amount of people turning up to run.”

The Legend Race Series, which includes four races in total, offers participants the opportunity to battle it out for trophy honours as well as the overall male and female winner claiming a $1,000 windfall.

Finishing strong: Jose Andrade, left, Jeana Jones and Allan Young cross the line of the Ed Sherlock 8K Road Race (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

Runners must complete three of the four races to be eligible to be crowned the Legends Series winner, with male and female winners in each age category also receiving a trophy.

Also included on the race calendar are the Ray Swan Flat 8K on March 26, followed by the Ludwig Cann 10K Road Race on April 2 and finishing up with the Bermuda Healthcare “Sir” Stanley Burgess 5K on May 7.

The final race will carry double points in the series standings, while the male and female winners of the race will also win a $2,500 cash prize.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published February 13, 2023 at 7:49 am (Updated February 13, 2023 at 8:14 am)

Lamont Marshall and Gayle Lindsay steal early march in Legends Series

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon