Dillas makes most of reprieve

  • Late, late show: Jarryd Dillas captured his third stroke play title in a play-off (Photograph supplied)

    Late, late show: Jarryd Dillas captured his third stroke play title in a play-off (Photograph supplied)

Jarryd Dillas kept it together when it mattered most to win the Bermuda Stroke Play Championships at Port Royal Golf Course on Sunday.

The experienced amateur beat Walker Campbell in a sudden-death play-off to claim a third individual stroke play title and tenth overall.

Dillas and Bermuda team-mate Campbell were forced to play extra holes after coming in at five-over-par 218 at the end of 54 holes of regulation.

Both players were on the 18th green in two, from where Campbell made bogey and overnight leader Dillas a par to seal the deal.

Victory was especially sweet for Dillas, who lost to Will Haddrell in a play-off at the same event a year ago.

“I came a bit short last year in a play-off to Will, so it was good to get on the other side of it this time,” he said.

Dillas and Campbell traded the lead during the final round and were tied heading to the last regulation hole.

Campbell put himself in a position of strength after his wedge approach left him with a four-foot putt for birdie.

However, he was unable to convert to set up a play-off where Dillas ultimately prevailed.

“I really thought once I missed my putt [for birdie] that he was going to close it out right there,” Dillas said.

“He gave me a second life there and I was able to pull it out in the play-off.”

Alan Smith, an overseas player who was the first-round leader, rounded off the top three in the men’s championship field at 13-over 226.

Lightning struck twice as the women’s championship was also decided by a play-off, in which Laura Robinson prevailed over Tariqah Walikraam after both closed at 238, 25 over par.

Robinson made par on the play-off hole, while Walikraam carded a bogey after her approach shot to the green found the front right bunker.

Tracy Burgess finished third at 45-over 258.

Chris Phillips won the senior men’s division by six shots over Nick Fernandez.

Phillips finished with 226 and Fernandez at 232. Ian Page rounded off the top three among the senior men’s field with 240.

Tracy Nash won the senior women’s title by four shots over Tracy Burgess.

You must be registered or signed-in to post comment or to vote.

Published Jun 18, 2019 at 8:00 am (Updated Jun 18, 2019 at 2:39 pm)

Dillas makes most of reprieve

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon

  • Take Our Poll

    Today's Obituaries

    eMoo Posts