Log In

Reset Password

Brangman wins Safe Hands Award

Derrick Brangman was official named as the Safe Hands Award winner yesterday.

Brangman was presented with the Calvin “Bummy” Symonds plaque during at ceremony at Bermuda Health Services, after his outstanding diving effort to dismiss Christian Burgess in the St George's second innings.

It was one of three catches held by Brangman over the two days, but as Dennis Wainwright, the co-ordinator of the award pointed out, the winner is judged on more than just the best catch.

“When I was asked to do it [judge the award] I said I would under one condition, that I can include sportsmanship,” said Wainwright, who became involved four years ago. “Sometimes a person's behaviour is overlooked when they do something spectacular.”

Brangman was also prominent for the champions with the bat, scoring 35 not out in a last-wicket stand of 34 with Greg Maybury which enabled Somerset to take a 41-run lead into the second innings.

He also took five wickets in the match, including three for 26 in the second innings which makes him a favourite for the MVP award, which is still to be announced.

Brangman received a $1,000 cheque and a $1,000 travel voucher from World View Travel for winning the award which was presented by Symonds, a former St George's captain and Dr Mahesh Reddy, medical director of BHS.

Brangman is the twelfth Somerset player to win the award since its inception in 1998.

“I really didn't think I was going to get to it [the ball],” said Brangman, who slipped just before taking the catch. “I was just trying to stop the boundary at first, but as I got closer to it I just took the chance and went for it and got it.”

Janeiro Tucker, last year's winner and the inaugural winner, extended his lead at the top of the catches list after taking four in this year's Cup Match. He has 31 overall, six more than Amon Hunt.

Photo by Jamahl Simmons Derrick Brangman with his Safe Hands awards yesterday
<p>Calvin “Bummy” Symonds</p><p>Safe Hands Award winners</p>

2015 Derrick Brangman (SCC)

2014 Janeiro Tucker (SCC)

2013 Jekon Edness (SCC)

2012 Chris Douglas (SCC)

2011 Lionel Cann (St Geo)

2010 Dwayne Leverock (SCC)

2009 Chris Foggo (St Geo)

2008 Fiqre Crockwell (St Geo)

2007 Chris Foggo (St Geo)

2006 Rodney Trott (St Geo)

2005 Jacobi Robinson (SCC)

2004 Jermaine Posthethwaite (SCC)

2003 Janeiro Tucker (SCC)

2002 Clay Smith (St Geo)

2001 Dwayne Leverock (SCC)

2000 Dexter Basden (SCC)

1999 Curtis Jackson (SCC)

1998 Janeiro Tucker (SCC)

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published August 05, 2015 at 9:00 am (Updated August 04, 2015 at 10:28 pm)

Brangman wins Safe Hands Award

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon