Log In

Reset Password

Six of the best as Dominique Mayho dominates Sinclair Packwood race

First Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next Last
Legacy cemented: Dominique Mayho further cemented his status as the most successful male rider in the history of the Sinclair Packwood Memorial Race after winning his sixth title. (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

Dominique Mayho further cemented his legacy as the most successful male rider in the history of the Sinclair Packwood Memorial Race after winning his sixth title yesterday.

The 29-year-old defending champion was the overwhelming favourite and dictated the early stages of the race from St George’s before making his decisive move in Flatts to seal a commanding victory in the Male Open category in a time of 31min 47sec ahead of Kavin Smith (32:07) and Clifford Roberts (32:21).

Cameron Morris, who was officially second across the line overall in a time 32:06, claimed victory in the Junior Male category, ahead of Jackson Langley (32:09) and Jake Smith (32:12).

Having been afforded the opportunity to fully soak up the adulation of the crowd along the finishing stretch on Cedar Avenue, Mayho was thrilled with the win which pulls him further ahead of Kris Hedges and Wayne Scott, who won the prestigious event three times apiece.

Title triumph: Dominique Mayho, crosses the line of the Sinclair Packwood Memorial Cycle Race (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

“This race means so much here in Bermuda and so it’s always great to win,” said Mayho, who has already sight his sights on adding further to his record.

“It’s amazing that all of these people turn out to support the race. You can hear your name being called out along the course; it’s really exciting and special.

“The conditions were very challenging, really windy and a lot more humid than I expected. I panicked a little because Tracy Wright and Steven Ryan went out early and got a sizeable gap.

“At Blue Hole Hill I knew I had to go for it. I managed to take over and then I chose to attack on Flatts Hill, but Cameron [Morris] followed me. However, by Whitney Institute I managed to create a gap and from there I got my head down to the end.

Precession to the line: Dominique Mayho soaks up the adulation of the crowd down the finishing straight (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

“I’m going to keep going until I can’t any more, that’s the plan, I’ll keep on trying.”

A magnanimous Morris conceded he just could not match Mayho’s intensity in the closing stages, but has warned his rival that he will be coming for his crown in the years to come.

Runner-up: Cameron Morris seals second overall place in the Sinclair Packwood Memorial Cycle Race (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

“I sat on his wheel for as long as I could. However, at Whitney he went away and that was it, that was the last I saw of him,” he said.

“It’s nice to hear that I was one of the guys that Dom feared going into the race. Growing up, he was always the fastest guy on island and the one to beat. I feel like he will always be the guy to beat and to get to his level will take a few years yet, but I’m excited to try.

“I’m still only 17 years old, so I know I’ve got some years ahead of me to try to win this race, hopefully starting next year.”

Leading lady: Panzy Olander, who claimed her first women’s title (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

It also proved a memorable day for Panzy Olander, who claimed her first women’s title, edging out Liana Medeiros and Jennifer Lightbourne.

Olander shocked herself with the victory, having taken up the sport only seven months ago.

“It feels absolutely amazing, I feel like I’m flying right now!” she said. “It’s something I never imagined winning having only started cycling back in November and it’s a strange feeling for sure.

“The race started a little slowly because I think everyone was a little nervous, but at Blue Hole it ramped up and that’s when I started working hard and going for it.

“It’s so cool to know my name will also be connected to this race as a winner; I never would have imagined that.”

Sinclair Packwood Memorial Cycle Race (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

In the Junior Female category, Annabelle Miller, who was officially third overall among all the female competitors took the crown, in a time of 34:54, with Charlotte Millington second in 38:20 and Skye Ferguson rounding out the podium places in 39:47.

All smiles: Panzy Olander, right, winner of the women’s race, alongside runner-up Liana Medeiros, left, and Anabelle Miller, who won the junior girl’s race having crossed the line third overall of all the female competitors (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

In the Youth Classic races, Makao Butterfield clinched the title in the boys’ race ahead of Dylan Eiselt and Jens Drea, while Kelise Wade pipped Daisy Langley to victory in the girls’ race.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published May 27, 2023 at 7:58 am (Updated May 27, 2023 at 7:58 am)

Six of the best as Dominique Mayho dominates Sinclair Packwood race

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon