Log In

Reset Password

Brendon Todd out of Butterfield Bermuda Championship

Brendon Todd with his Bermuda cedar trophy for winning the first Bermuda Championship in 2019 (File photograph by Lawrence Trott)

The Butterfield Bermuda Championship has suffered its first casualty with the withdrawal of Brendon Todd, the inaugural winner in 2019.

Todd, who so delighted the Bermudian gallery with a stunning final round of 62 to beat third-round leader Harry Higgs by four strokes, was listed last week among the high-profile players to feature in the third instalment of the Bermuda Championship at Port Royal Golf Course next week, but he was not listed among the 132-player field that was finalised overnight on Friday.

The 36-year-old from Georgia has been playing in the Zozo Championship at the Accordia Golf Narashino Country Club in Chiba, Japan.

He was joined there by Will Zalatoris, another featured player to withdraw from the Bermuda event, but Lanto Griffin — the third player in Japan who had been touted to tee it up at Port Royal — remains in the field.

Also playing in Japan and listed for the Bermuda field is little-known Matthew NeSmith.

The players had until 6pm Bermuda time on Friday to announce their withdrawal.

Of the four, Griffin fared best in Japan, riding a blistering four-under 66 to finish joint seventh — ten strokes off the pace set by victorious home favourite Hideki Matsuyama.

Zalatoris was joint 54th at six over par and Todd, who was earlier mired near the bottom the 78-player field, closed with a 66 to finish joint 62nd at eight over.

NeSmith, 28, coming off a breakthrough year on the PGA Tour with two top-ten finishes and seven in the top 25, was joint 48th at four over.

Others in the field with Bermuda connections are the two runners-up — Higgs, who finished joint 39th, and Wyndham Clark, who was joint 25th after challenging early.

Notable among the newcomers to Bermuda is Korean-born New Zealander Danny Lee, who is on a road to recovery after losing his PGA Tour card for 2022.

Lee, now 31, is remembered as the youngest winner of the US Men’s Amateur in 2008 at age 18 years and one month — six months younger than Tiger Woods when he won in 1994.

It was a distinction that he would hold for only one year, but he followed that up in February 2009 by becoming the youngest winner on the European Tour when he claimed the Johnnie Walker Classic in Perth, Australia, while still an amateur.

He turned pro after the Masters that year, but his form has flitted in and out, not helped by spells of injury, and now he is fighting for a way back to the lucrative PGA Tour — the significance of which was shown in him sacrificing a place at the Olympics to further his goals through the Korn Ferry Tour.

The full field for the Butterfield Bermuda Championship (United States unless stated):

Ludvig Aberg (Sweden)

Robert Allenby (Australia)

Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Thailand)

Ryan Armour

Arjun Atwal (India)

Bae Sang Moon (South Korea)

Paul Barjon (France)

Erik Barnes

Ricky Barnes

Christiaan Bezuidenhout (South Africa)

Jason Bohn

Joseph Bramlett

Scott Brown

Hayden Buckley

Jonathan Byrd

Greg Chalmers (Australia)

Austin Cook

Ben Crane

Chaka DeSilva (Bermuda)

Thomas Detry (Belgium)

Luke Donald (England)

Brett Drewitt (Australia)

Jason Dufner

Austin Eckroat

Derek Ernst

Matt Every

Matt Fitzpatrick (England)

Patrick Flavin

Dylan Frittelli (South Africa)

Tommy Gainey

Robert Garrigus

Brian Gay

Michael Gligic (Canada)

Lucas Glover

Fabián Gómez (Argentina)

Lanto Griffin

Jordan Gumberg

Scott Gutschewski

Adam Hadwin (Canada)

Brandon Hagy

Harry Hall (England)

Nick Hardy

David Hearn (Canada)

J.J. Henry

Lucas Herbert (Australia)

Kramer Hickok

Garrick Higgo (South Africa)

Matt Hill (Canada)

Bo Hoag

Lee Hodges

Beau Hossler

Mark Hubbard

Stephan Jäger (Germany)

Richard S. Johnson (Sweden)

Michael Kim

Kurt Kitayama

Jim Knous

Russell Knox (Scotland)

Greg Koch

Ben Kohles

Anirban Lahiri (India)

Hank Lebioda

Danny Lee (New Zealand)

David Lingmerth (Sweden)

David Lipsky

Justin Lower

Peter Malnati

Ben Martin

Denny McCarthy

Graeme McDowell (Northern Ireland)

Max McGreevy

Parker McLachlin

Jay McLuen

Guido Migliozzi (Italy)

Brian Morris (Bermuda)

Matthew NeSmith

Noh Seung Yul (South Korea)

Andrew Novak

Sean O’Hair

John Pak

Damian Palanyandi (Bermuda)

Taylor Pendrith (Canada)

Cameron Percy (Australia)

Mito Pereira (Chile)

Carl Pettersson (Sweden)

D.A. Points

Ted Potter Jr

Séamus Power (Ireland)

Aaron Rai (England)

Chad Ramey

Patrick Reed

Seth Reeves

Davis Riley

Patrick Rodgers

John Rollins

Andrés Romero (Argentina)

Adam Schenk

Matthias Schwab (Austria)

Chase Seiffert

John Senden (Australia)

Greyson Sigg

Michael Sims (Bermuda)

David Skinns (England)

Heath Slocum

Alex Smalley

Camiko Smith (Bermuda)

Austin Smotherman

J.J. Spaun

Kevin Stadler

Scott Stallings

Sepp Straka (Austria)

Chris Stroud

Brian Stuard

Adam Svensson (Canada)

Callum Tarren (England)

Nick Taylor (Canada)

Vaughn Taylor

Sahith Theegala

Curtis Thompson

Martin Trainer

Peter Uihlein

Dawie van der Walt (South Africa)

Bo Van Pelt

Camilo Villegas (Colombia)

Johnson Wagner

Nick Watney

Vincent Whaley

Danny Willett (England)

Kyle Wilshire

Brandon Wu

Dylan Wu

Cameron Young

ALTERNATES (in order)

Carlos Franco (Paraguay)

Daniel Chopra (Sweden)

Michael Bradley

John Merrick

Ted Purdy

Olin Browne

Frank Lickliter II

Jonathan Kaye

Tommy Armour III

Will MacKenzie

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published October 25, 2021 at 8:04 am (Updated October 26, 2021 at 8:05 am)

Brendon Todd out of Butterfield Bermuda Championship

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon