Log In

Reset Password

D class pair chasing hat-trick of titles

Steven Eversley and Brandon Franks will be gunning for an impressive hat-trick in tomorrow's Rubis Around the Island Power Boat Race.

The dynamic duo have dominated the D class for the past two years and will be keen to make it three wins on the trot in their respective division when racing begins at Ferry Reach.

As well as defending their D class title in the previous race, driver Eversley and co-pilot Franks circumnavigated the new 54-mile racecourse in 43min 22sec to lead the overall fleet across the finish line in their Batboat.

Eversley and Franks are among a trio of entries in the D class which also features David Selley and Mark Selley Jr and Howard Ascento, who is racing with female co-pilot Kim McCallan.

McCallan, the Bermuda Power Boat Association vice-commodore, is finally fulfilling a long-time dream of hers of competing in the annual race.

“I am a bit excited, it's something I've always wanted to do,” she said. “Guess I'm following in the footsteps of two of my family members, the late James McCallan and Michael Bean.

“Nerves have not kicked in as of yet, probably because trying to get everything sorted for Sunday and making it run smoothly is keeping me busy and my mind off of being in the boat.”

A new champion will be crowned in the A class as last year's winner Dr Steve Sherwin and his daughter co-pilot Meghan are not back to defend their title.

Cleveland “Chicken” Maybury and rookie co-pilot Sal DeMello, Ryan Davidge and co-pilot Andrew Osbourne and Ryan Resendes and a co-pilot yet to be confirmed are among the three A class entries competing for Dr Sherwin's vacant title this year.

A new champion is also guaranteed in the B class as last year's winner David Selley has moved up to the D class this year and will race in a restored 23 foot Batboat.

Among those competing for Selley's vacant title are two father-and-son teams; Craig Nisbett and Craig Jr, who withdrew just prior to the start of last year's race for medical reasons, and Jody and Anthony Carreiro.

Kentwoin Jones and rookie co-pilot Joshua Holder and Luke Parker and Tehon Fox make up the remainder of the B class.

Damon Simons and co-pilot Aaron Cannonier are the only entry in C class.

Simons and then co-pilot Jeff Sousa led the entire racing fleet most of the way last year before being overtaken by Eversley and Franks near Clearwater Beach and suffering a mechanical breakdown moments later.

No C class entry finished last year's race as veteran driver Derek Simons and co-pilot Desmond DeShields collided with rocks near Castle Islands in their Batboat. Simons was treated for minor head and neck injuries at King Edward VII Memorial Hospital while his boat suffered extensive damage in the mishap that was recorded by an amateur videographer and posted on social media.

Back to defend his title in the S class is Shaki Easton and co-pilot Daric Seymour who will have their work cut out against rivals

Cameron Harris and co-pilot Andy Stoneham, Keith and Steven Bridges and Neil Fox and Stan Rawlins.

As of yesterday there were 15 entries from five classes registered.

A minor time adjustment for the start of the S class is the only change from the previous race.

“The S class will now start 24 minutes behind the A class due to circumnavigation times getting a lot faster,” Ernie Mello, the race director, said. “The average speed went up by about 4½ miles.”

Racing begins at 2pm at Ferry Reach.

Chasing a triple crown: Eversley and Franks celebrate their win last year at Ferry Reach (File photograph by Akil Simmons)

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published August 06, 2016 at 9:00 am (Updated August 06, 2016 at 12:12 am)

D class pair chasing hat-trick of titles

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon