Log In

Reset Password

ABIC hands out 14 scholarship awards

First Prev 1 2 Next Last
Educational support: Winners of the ABIC scholarships, who received their awards yesterday in a ceremony at the Harbourfront restaurant

International business yesterday handed out 14 educational awards to students aiming for a corporate career.

Undergraduate students all got $15,000 a year for two years, with the one post-graduate award valued at $20,000 for one year.

And three of the students, in addition to Association of Bermuda International Companies (ABIC) educational awards, were given three additional grants named after previous award winners who have since died.

Chelsea Warren, a former Bermuda Institute pupil studying accounting at Oakwood College in the US was given the Shernelle M Outerbridge Award, named after the late CEO of Zurich Investment Services, who was herself an ABIC scholar in 1984.

The award, sponsored by Zurich, means an additional $15,000 grant to an ABIC awardee.

The $5,000 Michelle Outerbridge Memorial Award, named after an award-winner from 2000, was given to Aleisha Hollis, who will be attending the University of Essex in the UK to study law.

And Antonio Bailey, a former Bermuda Institute pupil, was given the Stephen Edwards Memorial Award, also worth $5,000.

Mr Edwards, who was a law student in England, won his ABIC award in 2014.

Mr Bailey will study information technology and computer science networking at London Metropolitan University.

The other undergraduate ABIC awards winners were: Katherine Arnfield, Ashley Bento, Ciara Burrows, Clevon Cunningham, Shane Hollis, Nicholas Moulder, Emily Osborne, Jordan Payne, Chelsea Smith and Aaron Trimm.

The post-graduate award went to T’Deana Spencer.

The application deadline for next year’s scholarships is April 8, 2016. Applications can be made at wwwlbermudascholarships.com.

In their memory: Pictured (from left) are Chelsea Warren, who was awarded the Shernelle M Outerbridge Award; Marcia Bailey who picked up the Stephen Edwards Memorial Award on behalf of her son Antonio Bailey; and Aleisha Hollis, who received the Michelle Outerbridge Memorial Award