Log In

Reset Password

Cox named Gold Cup chairman

Outgoing Gold Cup chairman Billings

Andy Cox is the new chairman of the Argo Group Gold Cup.

Cox was appointed to the post by former Royal Bermuda Yacht Club commodore and ISAF umpire/judge Peter Shrubb, who is now in charge of international events in Bermuda, such as the World Match Race Tour sanctioned Gold Cup, Newport to Bermuda Race and International Race Week.

“Andy has been appointed as the new chairman of the Argo Group Gold Cup,” said Shrubb, who officiated at the 2007 America’s Cup in Valencia, Spain.

Former RBYC commodore Cox, who could not be reached for comment, has succeeded Brian Billings as chairman of the Gold Cup.

Billings, who is president of the World Match Race Association, served as chairman of the Gold Cup for six years.

“It was challenging but always fun,” Billings, who is also a past RBYC commodore, said. “It was a great time with a great team that made every Gold Cup a tremendous success. Because of the depth of experience in the team that we had, organising the Gold Cup they were always successful, and I was very lucky because I had a hell of a team.”

Billings’s involvement with the Gold Cup stretches back decades.

“I’ve been involved from day one with Jordy Walker way back when,” Billings said. “So I’ve always been involved in the Gold Cup.”

The Gold Cup underwent a major overhaul in the 1980s which included the introduction of professional sailors, on the water judging, prize money, racing in Hamilton Harbour and live commentary.

Shrubb, meanwhile, also confirmed that past RBYC commodore Les Crane will no longer serve in the capacity as co-chairman of the Gold Cup.

“Andy will serve on his own and I am helping him as rear commodore of professional events,” Shrubb, who also officiated at the 2012 London Olympics, said. The King Edward VII Gold Cup is the oldest match racing trophy in the world for competition involving one-design yachts.

Former winners of the prestigious trophy include America’s Cup winners Sir Ben Ainslie, Sir Russell Coutts and Jimmy Spithill.

Johnie Berntsson, of Sweden, is the reigning Gold Cup champion having claimed a second title in six years last October.