Log In

Reset Password

Poor Bermuda slump to heavy defeat

Photo by Akil SimmonsGood start: Charles Trott bowls against Canada at Lord's.

Bermuda missed the chance to advance to a second qualifying tournament in Nepal for next year’s Under-19 World Cup when they crashed to a heavy 90-run defeat against unbeaten Canada today.

Victory would have earned Bermuda the runners-up spot behind Canada in the America’s region and advance to another qualifier later this year in Nepal.

However, after dismissing Canada for 202, their lowest total of the tournament, Bermuda’s top order again fared badly — 30 for 7 at one point — before the tailend saved face with some late resistence, before Bermuda crumbled to 112 all out.

The defeat left Bermuda level on points with the United States, but the Americans finished second on net run rate.

Set to score at just four runs an over, Bermuda, who failed to surpass 200 in their four games, started patiently against the pace pair of captain Muhammad Khan and Prushoth Wijayaraj before panic started to set in as wickets began to fall and the asking run rate started to climb.

Jade Morrissey departed on four, Jahnai Bean-Wilson on 14, Azende Furbert on 17 and Alex Dore on four, with just 26 runs on the board and the innings already into the 15th over. Captain Delray Rawlins’ dismissal in the 16th over when he was bowled attempting a straight drive, left Bermuda in deep trouble at 30 for 5 and then, two balls later, 30 for 6.

At Charles Trott’s dismissal in the 18th over on 32-7, it looked likely Bermuda would be dismissed for less than 50.

However, they played some of their most positive in the whole innings at this point, as number eight and nine batsmen, Jordan Smith and Shakeal Outerbridge, stood up to the Canada bowlers. There confident batting and good running between the wickets was something that had largely been missing up to that point.

The pair shared in an eighth-wicket stand of 41, which ended when Outerbridge was dismissed for 26 in 32 balls. Smith and Chare Smith, who scored a definatn 21, then put on a further 35 runs to bring up the 100, much to the relief of their supporters. It was soon all over for Bermuda when Jordan Smith was last out in the 37th over for a well-played 24 from 52 balls.

None of the top seven Bermuda batsmen reached double figures, as the Canada bowlers kept on the pressure with Abdul Haseeb taking three for 20 from seven overs, Harsh Thaker two for two from 5.2 overs with three maidens and captain Khan two for 18 from six overs.

Earlier the Bermuda bowlers did well to restrict Canada to 202, giving themselves a decent chance at victory in cloudy conditions which saw rain stop play for a half hour late in the Canada innings.

Michah Simons claimed four for 21 from ten overs and Chare Smith, Charles Trott and Rawlins two apiece as Canada found runs hard to come by early in their innings, scoring at about three runs an over.

They were 76 for 3 after 25 overs and 102 for 3 after 30 before scoring 100 in the last 20 overs to pass the 200 mark.

Thanker, batting at number five, was top bat with 67, while opener Thursaanth Anantharajah hit six fours in a knock of 58 before he was fourth out in the 33rd over.

Sarbjot Singh added a valuable 27 late in the innings as the run rate increased to five an over.


A Gill c Bean-Wilson b Simons 5

A Taploo c Trott 12

*MA Khan b Rawlins 1

H Thaker c Trott b Simons 67

A Maddela c Rawlins b Trott 9

†S Sivia c Rawlins b C Smith 26

M Patel c Rawlins b Simons 6

A Haseeb c Fubert b C Smith 5

H Sidhu b Simons 0 P Wijayaraj not out 0

Extras (w 6, b 1, lb 6) 13

Total (49.1 overs) 202

Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-47, 3-48, 4-116, 5-148, 6-181, 7-193, 8-198, 9-202.

Bowling: M Simons 10-0-21-4; C Smith 8.1-1-26-2; J Smith 5-0-24-0; C Trott 10-1-54-2; S Dill 3-0-22-0; D Rawlins 10-3-33-2; S Outerbridge 2-0-8-0; A Furbert 1-0-7-0.


†J Bean-Wilson run out 4

J Morrissey c Sivia b Wijayaraj 0

A Dore c Wijayaraj b MA Khan 4

*D Rawlins b Haseeb 9

S Dill c Sivia b MH Khan 3

C Trott lbw b Haseeb 0

J Smith b Thaker 25

S Outerbridge c Thaker b Sidhu 26

C Smith c Maddela b Thaker 21

M Simons not out 0

Extras (w 13, lb 3, lb 1) 17

Total (36.2 overs) 112

Fall of wickets: 1-4, 2-14, 3-17, 4-26, 5-30, 6-30, 7-32, 8-73, 9-108.

Bowling: MA Khan 6-1-18-2; P Wijayaraj 6-1-19-1; H Thaker 5.2-3-2-2; A Hasseb 7-1-20-3; H Sidhu 7-0-31-1; A Maddela 5-0-21-0.

Umpires: Richard Austin and Sullivan Taylor.