Top students share architectural scholarship – The Royal Gazette | Bermuda News, Business, Sports, Events, & Community

Log In

Reset Password

Top students share architectural scholarship

First Prev 1 2 Next Last

The Institute of Bermuda Architects has announced the recipients of its Stanley G Kennedy Architectural Award.

Azra Smith and Kejon Sampson have been jointly awarded the scholarship, which was renamed in 2004 in memory of Mr Kennedy, an architect, former IBA president and Architects Registration Council chairman who devoted much of his life to advancing educational and professional standards in the architectural profession, both in Bermuda and Jamaica.

Recipients are selected based on academic merit and financial need.

Ms Smith is returning to Temple University in Philadelphia to continue her undergraduate degree in architecture, while Mr Sampson is completing his graduate degree at Roger Williams University in Rhode Island.

According to a press release, both recipients have demonstrated their strong commitment to their studies with excellent grades and strong design portfolios.

Krystal Rodrigues, president of IBA, said: “As a former recipient of this award, I know that the IBA has a long history of investing in Bermuda's aspiring architects and I am happy to be a part of continuing this tradition.”

Julia van Beelen, education committee chairman said: “As an architectural school scholarship recipient, I made a personal commitment 25 years ago to assist aspiring architects to obtain scholarship funding. I am delighted that Stanley's legacy of support lives on in the SGK scholarship, which helps to fund students with talent that would otherwise not be able to afford to attend an accredited architectural programme.

“On behalf of the IBA, the education committee extends our warmest congratulations and best wishes for the upcoming year to Kejon and Azra.

“We invite aspiring young architects to review eligibility requirements for our scholarships on our website and urge them to ensure they seek out accredited programmes.”

Committed student: Azra Smith
Committed student: Kejon Sampson

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published September 22, 2015 at 9:00 am (Updated September 21, 2015 at 10:21 pm)

Top students share architectural scholarship

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon