Log In

Reset Password

Athletes set to be honoured

Sport Staff

Some 58 student athletes will be honoured at the 34th annual Denton Hurdle Memorial Awards at Warwick Academy tonight.

The awards highlight, recognise and rewards the finest student-athletes in primary, middle and senior schools while also honouring the late Denton Hurdle Academy, a keen sportsman who attended Warwick Academy, Bermuda College and Dalhousie University.

After completing his physical education degree Hurdle taught at Warwick Academy. He was an avid sportsman and excelled in soccer, cricket and volleyball.

Hurdle's first love, however, was rugby and he went on to captain Teachers Rugby Football Club. He was also a regular member of the Bermuda National Team before sadly passing away in 1985.

Each school is asked to nominate one boy and one girl for the award. All submissions were then handed over to ten judges in the sporting and/or education field. These judges carefully reviewed the submission to elect this years winners.

To be nominated for the award, students must display the following qualities: active participation, leadership, sportsmanship, self-discipline, dedication and co-operation. They must demonstrate positive attitudes in school. Nominees should also be good scholar-athletes as well as good role models. Only students in the final year of primary, middle or senior school are eligible for this reward. The guest speaker for the event will be 1990 Denton Hurdle winner and newly hired BCB executive director Cal Blankendal.

Notable past winners of the award are triathlete Flora Duffy (1998 & 2004) and Tyler Smith (2016), Cup Match stars Terryn Fray (2005), OJ Pitcher (2000), Oronde Bascome (2002), Greg Maybury (2007) and Malachi Jones (2007). Other recipients include tennis pro Gavin Manders (2000), basketball star Erica Woods (2007) and the only three-time winner, Taylor Ashley Bean (2004, 2007 and 2011).

Current Bermuda national team members Roger Lee Jr, Justin Donawa and Liam Evans are also past recipients. The 2018 winners were Imojen Judd from Somersfield Academy and Elliot Primary's Khari Sharrieff in the Primary School division, Nisaiah Berkeley from BHS and Warwick Academy's Sam Williamson in the Middle School division, while Carifta athletes Sakari Famous and Robert Edwards from the Berkeley Institute swept the Senior school division.


Primary School girls: Nevaeh Barclay (Northlands), Ayah Best (Port Royal), Jayla Peets-Butterfield (West Pembroke), Kaelys Furbert (Victor Scott), Jaeda Grant (Somerset Primary), Aaralyn Ingham (Francis Patton), Ja'Leiyah Johnston (Heron Bay), Keyandae Lightbourne (Elliot Primary), Avani Patton (Saltus Grammar), Rose Paulos (Somersfield Academy), Taya Rodrigues (Mount Saint Agnes), Ashalay Simons (Warwick Academy), Jazariah Smith-Robinson (East End Primary), Legend Stevenson (West End Primary), Eva Trott (Paget Primary), Hailey Trott (Harrington Sound Primary), Arima Turner (Bermuda High School), Eva Tuzo (St. George's Preparatory).

Primary School boys: Xani Allen (Francis Patton), Tyler Coleman (Saltus Grammar), Syhon-Dakari Goater (Paget Primary), Kimani Davis (West Pembroke Primary), Patrick Dill (Somerset Primary), Zaki Gibbons-DeShields (East End Primary), Knaledge Hardford (Victor Scott), Kyah Richardson (Elliot Primary), Daylen Scott (Mount Saint Agnes), Matthew Troake (Somersfield Academy), Ralph Scott (Warwick Academy), Cavin White (Harrington Sound), Harlem Bean-Fox (Purvis Primary).

Middle School girls: Kisayé Bell (Dellwood Middle School), Shayla Cann (Warwick Academy), Natalie Gazzard (Bermuda High School), Amara Richardson (Sandys Secondary Middle School), Jahni Simmons (Whitney Institute), Nicole Stovell (Mount Saint Agnes), Alivia Venning (Saltus Grammar), Isabella White (Somersfield Academy).

Middle School boys: Sebastian Kempe (Saltus Grammar), T Amias Lightbourne (Dellwood), Kwame Naylor (Warwick Academy), Mason Robinson (Sandys Secondary), Tiago Rodrigues (Mount Saint Agnes), Mackai Whitter (Somersfield Academy).

Senior School girls: Caroline Amaral (Mount Saint Agnes), Brijette Basden (CedarBridge Academy), Taylor Hines (Bermuda High School), Ashley Irby (Saltus Grammar School), Kaylee Lema (The Berkeley Institute), Ryley Mason (Warwick Academy)

Senior School boys: Cameron Coffey (Saltus Grammar), Mikal Dill (CedarBridge Academy), Blake Horseman (Mount Saint Agnes), Jaiden Manders (The Berkeley Institute), Joshua Thorne (Warwick Academy).

Special guest: newly hired BCB executive director Cal Blankendal, a winner of the Denton Hurdle award in 1990, will be the guest speaker at the event (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published June 21, 2019 at 9:00 am (Updated June 21, 2019 at 12:30 am)

Athletes set to be honoured

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon